GPM PROJECT GHG ACCOUNTING

What will this project emit, and what will it avoid?

Corporate calculators measure an organization over a year, which makes a project invisible. This one gives an indicative estimate of the carbon of delivering a project, the carbon of what it hands over across its service life, and the carbon it avoids against a reference scenario you declare. Three figures, reported separately, in the shape a gate decision needs.

A directional figure from published capital carbon intensities. Use it to size the question. It is not audit ready, and the line-by-line tab is where a real number comes from.

Capital carbon in the delivery period, then operational and user carbon across the design life, in the shape PAS 2080 uses. Leave anything you do not know blank. A blank line is honest; a guess is not. For each line you enter, say how good the data is and where it came from; the report carries both, and the range on every figure follows from them.

Delivering it
m³ In-situ and precast together.
metric tons Bar and mesh.
metric tons Sections, plate and cladding rails made by the blast furnace route.
metric tons Sections from mixed European production. Use this line or the one above, according to the supplier.
metric tons Surfacing and binder courses.
metric tons Imported material only.
m³ Sequestration is excluded.
litres Everything burned on site. Scope 1 for whoever burns it.
litres Enter the same litres again to include upstream fuel emissions, reported as a separate line.
kWh Metered supply for the whole delivery period.
metric ton-km Tonnes carried multiplied by distance.
km Site visits and commuting by the delivery team.
passenger-km Per passenger.
passenger-km Per passenger.
metric tons Soil, stone, concrete and brick.
metric tons Timber, plastics, packaging and anything not inert.
metric tons Segregated and recovered.
Running it per year
kWh per year Electricity to run the asset once in service.
litres per year Standby generation, pumps, fleet.
metric tons CO2e per year If unknown, use one percent of the delivery total.
vehicle-km per year Traffic the asset carries that would not otherwise exist.
What it avoids per year
vehicle-km per year Journeys the asset removes or shortens.
kWh per year Plant or buildings taken out of service.
P5 module Ambassadors
Fifteen statements that a carbon figure cannot see, across the five dimensions of the P5 Standard, answered for this project and printed on the gate report.Become an ambassador and get the full tool
AMBASSADORS
ProjectTemplateDeliveringRunningAvoided (separate)
Your first projectInfrastructure and construction.........
Next project............
Portfolio total.........
THE FULL TOOL

Keep your projects and see them as a portfolio

Saved projects stay with your account, each frozen with the factor set it was calculated with, so a figure reproduces exactly after the annual refresh.

  • Save and reopen every project
  • Portfolio totals across all of them
  • The P5 module and the gate report
Become an ambassador and get the full toolAlready an ambassador? Sign in and the full tool opens here.

Method version 1.2Factor set 2026-09

How the figures are built

A project has two footprints and one comparison. The first footprint is the carbon of delivering it, spent once and largely fixed by decisions taken at design and procurement. The second is the carbon of what the project hands over, which repeats every year of the service life. The comparison is what the handover avoids against a reference scenario you declare, and it is reported on its own. Nothing is netted, because avoided emissions belong to a different accounting system from emissions and the WBCSD Guidance on Avoided Emissions v2.0 requires them to be kept apart.

The structure uses the capital, operational and user carbon terminology of PAS 2080:2023 for built assets. Lines are organised so an organization can allocate them to scopes under the GHG Protocol Corporate Standard, including scope 3 category 2, capital goods. The boundary and reference scenario concepts are informed by ISO 14064-2:2019 and the GHG Protocol for Project Accounting; the tool produces an ex ante estimate and does not include the baseline candidate analysis, monitoring plan or independent verification those standards require for a claimable reduction.

Results can inform an entity\'s actions and resources disclosure under ESRS E1-3 (E1-5 from FY2027) and its consideration of IF-EN-160a.2 and IF-EN-410a.2 (Engineering and Construction Services: construction phase risks including emissions to air, and operational phase energy efficiency in project planning and design) or TC-SI-130a.3 (Software and IT Services: environmental considerations in strategic planning for data center needs), metrics in the SASB Standards version 2023-12 maintained by the ISSB, which entities applying IFRS S2 are required to refer to and consider. They are not for the gross scope 1, 2 and 3 disclosure, not for EU Taxonomy alignment and not for assurance. The tool is not affiliated with, licensed by or endorsed by the IFRS Foundation, the SBTi, BSI, ISO or the GHG Protocol.

Confidence is the share of the figures resting on national or standard body factors, weighted by how much each line contributes. A high figure with low confidence is a research task. A low figure with high confidence is a result. Every saved project keeps the factor set it was calculated with, so a run reproduces exactly after the factors are refreshed each year.

Factors in use

FactorkgCO₂ePerSource and editionYearLicenseGWP basisConfidence
grid_GB0.131kWhDESNZ UK Government GHG Conversion Factors 2026, grid average including imports2026OGL v3AR5 (CH4 28, N2O 265)high
grid_US0.3497kWhUS EPA eGRID2023, national average, 770.9 lb CO2e per MWh2025US Government, public domainAR5high
grid_IN0.71kWhCEA CO2 Baseline Database v21.0, weighted average, CO2 only2025Government of IndiaCO2 only, not CO2ehigh
grid_CA0.191kWhEmber Global Electricity Review 2026 data, 20252026CC BY 4.0AR5, upstream CH4 at 21moderate
grid_EU0.21kWhEmber Global Electricity Review 2026, EU-27, 20252026CC BY 4.0AR5, upstream CH4 at 21moderate
grid_FR0.041kWhEmber Global Electricity Review 2026 data, 20252026CC BY 4.0AR5, upstream CH4 at 21moderate
grid_CN0.525kWhEmber Global Electricity Review 2026, 20252026CC BY 4.0AR5, upstream CH4 at 21moderate
grid_JP0.477kWhEmber Global Electricity Review 2026, 20252026CC BY 4.0AR5, upstream CH4 at 21moderate
grid_AU0.525kWhEmber Global Electricity Review 2026 data, 20252026CC BY 4.0AR5, upstream CH4 at 21moderate
grid_BR0.11kWhEmber Global Electricity Review 2026, 20252026CC BY 4.0AR5, upstream CH4 at 21moderate
grid_XX0.458kWhEmber Global Electricity Review 2026, world average, 20252026CC BY 4.0AR5, upstream CH4 at 21moderate
concrete246m3MPA and BRMCA generic UK ready-mixed concrete EPD (IBU 2018), 35 percent cement replacement; corroborated by IStructE 2020 at 0.103 kgCO2e per kg2018EPD facts, citedAR4 (EN 15804+A1)moderate
rebar_eaf684tBRC reinforcement EPD 2019 via IStructE 2020, UK electric arc furnace, about 97 percent recycled2020EPD facts, citedAR4 (EN 15804+A1)moderate
steel_bof2,450tBritish Steel sections EPD 2020 via IStructE 2020, UK basic oxygen route2020EPD facts, citedAR4 (EN 15804+A1)moderate
steel_eu1,130tBauforumstahl European average sections via IStructE 20202020EPD facts, citedAR4 (EN 15804+A1)moderate
asphalt57tNAPA SIP-109 (2024), US industry average hot mix, 51.4 kgCO2e per short ton; UK EPD pending2024Published facts, citedNot stated by the publisherillustrative
aggregate5.77tAggregate Industries Torr Works crushed limestone EPD, BRE Global 2018; indicative pending a current EPD2018EPD facts, citedAR4 (EN 15804+A1)moderate
timber126m3IStructE 2020, certified sawn softwood, 0.263 kgCO2e per kg at 480 kg per m3, sequestration excluded2020Published guide, citedAR4 (EN 15804+A1)moderate
diesel2.584litreDESNZ 2026, combustion only, average biofuel blend; well to tank 0.611 reported separately2026OGL v3AR5 (CH4 28, N2O 265)high
diesel_wtt0.611litreDESNZ 2026, well to tank for diesel2026OGL v3AR5 (CH4 28, N2O 265)high
freight0.111metric ton-kmDESNZ, all HGVs average laden; 2026 cell to be confirmed2026OGL v3AR5 (CH4 28, N2O 265)moderate
car0.17kmDESNZ 2025, average car; petrol 0.163, diesel 0.173, hybrid 0.1282025OGL v3AR5 (CH4 28, N2O 265)moderate
air_short0.126passenger-kmDESNZ 2026, short haul international economy, with radiative forcing (multiplier 1.7)2026OGL v3AR5 (CH4 28, N2O 265)high
air_long0.117passenger-kmDESNZ 2026, long haul international economy, with radiative forcing (multiplier 1.7)2026OGL v3AR5 (CH4 28, N2O 265)high
landfill_inert1.23tDESNZ 2026, inert construction waste to landfill2026OGL v3AR5 (CH4 28, N2O 265)high
landfill_mixed467.05tDESNZ 2026, mixed commercial and industrial waste to landfill2026OGL v3AR5 (CH4 28, N2O 265)high
recycled21.29tDESNZ 2026, closed loop recycling2026OGL v3AR5 (CH4 28, N2O 265)high
paper0.0067sheetDESNZ 2024, paper primary production, 1,339 kgCO2e per metric ton at 4.99 g per A4 sheet2024OGL v3AR5 (CH4 28, N2O 265)moderate
fte_month80FTE-monthGPM working assumption: office energy and commuting per person-month2026GPMNot applicable (GPM assumption)illustrative
fte_year960FTE-yearGPM working assumption: office energy and commuting per person-year2026GPMNot applicable (GPM assumption)illustrative
laptop200unitDell Latitude 5450 LCA 2024 and comparable manufacturer PCFs, embodied share; range 180 to 3002024Manufacturer facts, citedNot stated by the publishermoderate
monitor120unitDell P2425H LCA 2024, 24 inch, embodied share of 155 whole life2024Manufacturer facts, citedNot stated by the publishermoderate
phone30unitApple iPhone 17 Product Environmental Report 2025, production share of 55 to 61 whole life2025Manufacturer facts, citedAR6moderate
server816unitDell PowerEdge R6725 PCF 2025, manufacturing and transport; stated uncertainty exceeds the value2025Manufacturer facts, citedNot stated by the publisherillustrative
device_kwh50device-year (kWh, priced at the grid factor)GPM working assumption: 50 kWh of electricity per end user device per year, converted with the grid factor for the country2026GPMFollows the grid factor of the country selectedillustrative
cloud_spend0.5currency unitSpend based proxy for cloud services; use only when metered energy is unavailable2026GPMNot applicable (GPM assumption)illustrative
q_road500millionCapital carbon intensity, published civils benchmarks2025GPM synthesisNot applicable (GPM assumption)illustrative
q_rail450millionCapital carbon intensity, published civils benchmarks2025GPM synthesisNot applicable (GPM assumption)illustrative
q_water350millionCapital carbon intensity, published civils benchmarks2025GPM synthesisNot applicable (GPM assumption)illustrative
q_building400millionCapital carbon intensity, published building benchmarks2025GPM synthesisNot applicable (GPM assumption)illustrative
q_energy380millionCapital carbon intensity, published civils benchmarks2025GPM synthesisNot applicable (GPM assumption)illustrative
q_software45millionDelivery carbon intensity of software programs, working assumption2026GPMNot applicable (GPM assumption)illustrative
q_infra_it90millionDelivery carbon intensity of infrastructure-heavy IT, working assumption2026GPMNot applicable (GPM assumption)illustrative

The GWP basis column names the IPCC assessment report each publisher used to convert methane and nitrous oxide into carbon dioxide equivalent. This tool applies no global warming potential of its own, so the equivalence is inherited from the factor. Where a publisher states no basis, the column says so rather than assuming one.

Material factors are stated in kilograms of CO₂e per unit and converted to metric tons in the result. Grid factors are applied to every electricity line, including the ones inside the handover phase, so a project delivered in a country with a cleaner grid shows a lower operational figure, which is what happens in practice.


GPM

 

The sustainability organization advancing regenerative practices worldwide, since 2009.

New standards, research and certification news, first on LinkedIn

© 2009–2026 GPM Global. All rights reserved.

GPM®, Green Project Management®, and Sustainable Project Management® are registered trademarks of GPM Ltd. PRiSM™, the PMI-GPM P5™ Standard for Sustainability in Project Management, the PMI-GPM Practice Guide for Sustainability in Project Management, CSPP™ (formerly GPM-b™), CSPMs™, CSPMx™, CSP™, CSF™, Certified Sustainable Project Manager (Expert)™, GPM360°™, and PSM3™ are trademarks of GPM Global and the PMI-GPM Joint Venture as applicable. Use requires written consent.